March 26, 2013 | Posted in Legislation | By

On Tuesday the House Education Committee failed to pass HB1789, the “Tim Tebow Home School Law.” This law would have allowed home schooled students to participate in public school extracurricular activities. The bill received only 7 votes from the 20-member committee. Rep. Mark Lowery (R-Maumelle) is planning to present the bill again on Thursday. The Arkansas Education Association, the Arkansas School Board Association, the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators, and the Arkansas Activities Association testified against the bill in committee today, and all are trying to kill it.

Anyone who wants to see this bill pass should contact members of the committee listed below. Below is a list of the members of the House Education Committee and how they voted on HB1789 today.

Voted for the Bill
Rep. Les Carnine – 479-636-2619; lescarninerep94@cox.net

Rep. Jon Eubanks – 479-963-6217; jseubanks@hotmail.com

Rep. Bruce Cozart – 501-767-5999; bccci@cablelynx.com

Rep. Charlotte Douglas – 479-430-0170; douglasforarkansas@yahoo.com

Rep. Mark Lowery – 501-803-9062; markdlowery@mac.com

Rep. Mark Biviano – 501-230-5751; mkbiv@cablelynx.com

Rep. Ann Clemmer – 501-316-0364; avclemmer@sbcglobal.net

Voted Against the Bill
Rep. Homer Lenderman – 870-926-7914; homerlenderman@hotmail.com

Rep. John Catlett – 479-495-9662; jcatlett@arkwest.com

Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh – 479-474-5895; garydeffenbaugh@hotmail.com

Rep. James Ratliff – 501-454-8200; jamesratliff3468@yahoo.com

Rep. Charles Armstrong – 501-224-5071; ffa191@sbcglobal.net

Rep. Brent Talley – 870-983-2717, brent.talley@uacch.edu

Absent

Rep. Robert Dale – 479-331-3503; redale70@yahoo.com

Rep. John Edwards – 501-664-4938; jcedwardslaw@aol.com

Did Not Vote
Rep. Karen Hopper – 870-431-8934; karen.hopper@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Jody Dickinson – 870-523-8222, jdickinson20@gmail.com

Rep. Sheilla Lampkin – 870-367-6349; dslampkin@hughes.net

Rep. Debra Hobbs – 479-636-3982; dhobbs55@sbcglobal.net

Rep. James McLean – 870-698-1399; vote.james.mclean@gmail.com

Note: Rep. McLean is the chairman of the committee; generally, committee chairs do not vote on a bill unless the bill appears to be one vote shy of passing.

Call or email the members of the committee. Ask them to vote for HB1789, the “Tim Tebow Home School Law.” You can leave a message at the House switchboard during normal business hours. Call 501-682-6211. Be sure to thank the representatives who voted for the bill today.

TAGS:

Be the first to comment.

Leave a Reply


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*


Switch to our mobile site